Skip to main content

Deloitte Top 200 Finalists Announced

Auckland, 31 October 2023: Named today, this year’s finalists in the Deloitte Top 200 Awards have proven that adaptability and resilience are some of the defining characteristics of successful organisations.

The Deloitte Top 200 awards are held annually to recognise and celebrate outstanding individual and management team performances among New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations. The 2023 finalists have shown an aptitude for embracing the power of innovation to create future-proof solutions that help turn challenges into opportunities.

“Facing an unsettled economic climate, these organisations and leaders have navigated their way through an unpredictable landscape and emerged strong, and more adaptable than ever,” says Deloitte CE, Mike Horne.

“The Deloitte Top 200 gives us an opportunity to celebrate them, their ongoing resilience, and agility to succeed as they create a lasting impact that will contribute to a better future for their communities.

”Across the board, organisations are seeing that continued responsiveness and long-term focus is needed to work through a transforming technology landscape that includes the emergence of AI. Alongside the issues that are front of mind for businesses when considering their strategies, like delivering stakeholder value, sustainability and climate, diversity and inclusion, and overall business culture, this new frontier must also be factored in as businesses look ahead.

Fran O’Sullivan, New Zealand Media and Entertainment’s Head of Business Content, has returned as judging convenor for the 34th year of the awards.“

Once again, we’ve seen an incredible group of companies come through the Top 200. The leadership that these companies have shown throughout difficult times is testament to the strength of the New Zealand business community,” said O’Sullivan.“

As we’ve reviewed the organisations and worked to narrow down a list of finalists, we’ve seen how clear strategies can deliver results for businesses who have continued to grow value and make an impact across their customers, employees, sustainability and the environment.”

Together with Fran O’Sullivan, this year’s Top 200 judging panel includes Jonathan Mason, Neil Paviour-Smith, Ross George and Hinerangi Raumati-Tu’ua. In addition to the skills of our independent judges, the Top 200 awards would not be possible without our exclusive media sponsor The New Zealand Herald and the support of our category sponsors 2degrees, Amazon Web Services (AWS), Barfoot & Thompson, BusinessNZ, Forsyth Barr, Hobson Leavy, ServiceNow, Tax Traders, and University of Auckland Business School.

As the pre-eminent platform for showcasing the best of New Zealand business, the awards recognise the depth and range of our business community. The full list of finalists for 2023 can be found below.

The Deloitte Top 200 programme culminates with a black-tie awards dinner on 6 December at Auckland’s Viaduct Event Centre where the achievements of award finalists and winners are celebrated.


2023 Deloitte Top 200 Finalists

Award category: Amazon Web Services (AWS) Company of the Year

  • Infratil
  • Tourism Holdings
  • Xero

Award category: Barfoot & Thompson Diversity & Inclusion Leadership

  • Chorus
  • Mercury
  • NZME

Award category: BusinessNZ Most Improved Performance

  • Port of Auckland
  • Sky TV
  • Westland Dairy

Award category: Forsyth Barr Chairperson of the Year

  • David Carter - Beca
  • Rob Hewett - Silver Fern Farms
  • Scott St John - Fisher & Paykel Healthcare

Award category: Hobson Leavy Visionary Leader

  • To be announced on 6 December

Award category: ServiceNow Chief Executive of the Year

  • Grant Webster - Tourism Holdings
  • Simon Limmer - Silver Fern Farms
  • Vittoria Shortt - ASB Bank

Award category: Sustainability Leadership

  • Contact Energy
  • KMD Brands
  • Mercury

Award category: Tax Traders Chief Financial Officer of the Year

  • Kirsty Godfrey-Billy - Xero
  • Mark Fleming - Beca
  • Mike Roan – Meridian Energy

Award category: University of Auckland Business School Young Executive of the Year

  • Carolyn Adams - NZME
  • Mari Hunter - The Co-operative Bank
  • Penny Dell - ANZ

Award category: 2degrees Best Growth Strategy

  • Comvita
  • Heartland Bank
  • Scales Corporation

More information on the Top 200 is available, here along with a full list of award categories and judges.