Skip to main content

Hi, I'm Mohit.

Development Operations (DevOps) engineer and travel fanatic, London

Read it, like it, share it...

My journey so far…

I grew up in London with my parents and two older sisters. When I was young, one of my close family members was diagnosed with a degenerative health condition which affects their mobility. My family and I have been caring for him since 2014. His illness can be unpredictable, and I’m always on hand in case he has a fall or needs help with his movement.

Alongside my caring responsibilities I’ve been committed to my studies and career. At school I enjoyed maths so I decided to study statistics when I went to university. After a short stint with another consulting firm, I joined Deloitte because I felt like there was plenty of scope for learning and lots of opportunities to work with new technology.

"Working in development operations in IT, I love being able to see the impacts of my work in real time. I’m a family carer so I value the flexibility of my role because it means I can also prioritise life at home."

Work that matters

I’m now a development operations engineer in IT consulting, mainly with public sector organisations. We support the development teams who are building and running digital services for clients, and my team makes sure everything runs as it should, ensuring a smooth operation from start to finish. I enjoy that no two days are ever the same and there’s a huge amount of variation in the work. What we do has a direct impact on the public, as well as our clients, and it’s satisfying to know that what I am doing is making a difference within society. 

When I joined Deloitte I told my team about the caring responsibilities I have. They were really supportive, and I’ve always been able to work flexibly when I need to. I’m trusted to do the work, so if I need to leave early and take care of an emergency, it’s never a problem. For example, when I need to be in the office I might come in during the afternoon after preparing meals and working from home in the morning. I also joined the carer’s group at Deloitte which is part of the wider Working Families Network. It helps to know that there are other people in a similar boat to me.

Highlights from my week

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
I start the morning with a team meeting to see what our priorities are for the week. I then help the developers with an issue that needs to be ironed out on a new service.
I prepare meals in the morning while I’m working from home and go into the office in the afternoon. We do some team building exercises which are beneficial to do in person.
One of my colleagues asks me to help with an area of a service that is not working during development, and I spend the day working on the solution. I liaise with the client to update them on the issue we’re resolving and provide them with regular updates on how we are tackling it. After work I have a meal with my family.
We have a fun meeting in the morning to get us talking about things outside of work. After that we discuss priorities for the next week. In the evening, I go to the gym before meeting friends for a drink. 

3 things I've learned

To be comfortable with flexible working

As a carer it can be hard to take time off when you need it, but there’s no need to feel that way. I know that I can be flexible and still excel at my role.

To be upfront

It’s always better to let people know what’s happening in your life, because they can see the full picture. Other people need to know and understand what your other priorities are, so they can support you in the right way.

Grow your network

The wealth of knowledge within the firm is vast and you can learn so much from others. I think it’s important to build relationships to create your own for the future. The more people you meet and the more you develop, the more opportunities you’ll find.

Did you find this useful?

Thanks for your feedback

If you would like to help improve Deloitte.com further, please complete a 3-minute survey

My weekend looks like

I enjoy going to the gym, playing football and eating out with friends and
family. My favourite cuisine is Lebanese, though I like just about everything.
I also make the most of my holidays and enjoy travelling abroad when I can. In
the past year I’ve been to Rome, Serbia, Norway, Sweden and India. I also
went solo-travelling to Croatia, Bosnia and Montenegro, an experience I’d
highly recommend to others!