This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalized service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Bookmark Email Print page

Firm History


It has been more than 150 years since William Welch Deloitte opened his own accountancy office across the street from Bankruptcy Court on Basinghall Street in London.

In the Cayman Islands, Deloitte & Touche began in 1973 as a branch of the Bermuda based accounting firm Rawlinson Hunter Butterfield & Co. RHB. RHB Cayman then became the local representative of the international accounting firm of Deloitte Haskins and Sells. The first office of the firm was located in the West Wind Building in George Town.

In 1989 Deloitte & Touche was created as a result of the international merger between Deloitte Haskins & Sells and Touche Ross. In 2003 the global organisation announced the launch of the new brand name "Deloitte". The change means that the firm will now be recognised by the brand "Deloitte" while still keeping its local legal names Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu and Deloitte & Touche.

Since 1973, Deloitte Cayman has grown to be one of the largest professional services firms in the Cayman Islands, with a staff of almost 160 employees we are able to offer a full range of services from audit,  tax, consulting, financial advisory and enterprise risk.  

We are also a recognised leader in providing professional services to the hedge fund industry and work closely with other Deloitte hedge fund practitioners and together our depth of resources allows us to assemble a team that is perfectly suited to your needs.


About the Cayman Islands

A British Overseas Territory, the Cayman Islands is a tax neutral jurisdiction and one of the largest financial centers in the world. The country enjoys a high level of political and economic stability and maintains a well developed infrastructure with an internationally experienced work force. The strong partnership between the public and private sectors along with its tax free status has solidified its reputation as an attractive business environment.

Cayman Islands are made of up three islands, Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. The total area of all three Islands is 100 square miles and the population is estimated at approximately 52,000 residents. The largest is Grand Cayman which is approximately 22 miles long and 8 miles wide at the maximum width. The highest point on the island is only 60ft above sea level. The sister islands known as Cayman Brac and Little Cayman occupies 14 square miles and 10 square miles respectively. The Cayman Islands are located in the Western Caribbean 460 miles south of Miami, Florida and 167 miles west of Jamaica. 

The Cayman Islands offer a perfect tropical climate all year round with temperatures ranging from around 70 degrees Fahrenheit in winter to 90 degrees Fahrenheit in the summer, rising to a maximum in July. Rainfall is seasonal and also varies in different areas of the islands. Typically, the rainy season starts in June with maximum rainfall in September/October. Hurricane season lasts from June 1st to November 30th. The system of daylight saving time is not used and the officially language on all three islands is English.