This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalized service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Bookmark Email Print this page

April 17, 2014: Mexico FATCA Intergovernmental Agreement

Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA)


Mexico and the United States sign Intergovernmental Agreement

On November 19, 2012, Mexico and the United States signed an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) to improve international tax compliance including with respect to FATCA. The agreement includes reciprocal reporting obligations for the United States. Mexico was the third country to sign an IGA with the U.S. after the U.K signed in September and Denmark signed in November, and further bolsters the U.S.’s position to solve the global FATCA compliance problem using the IGA methodology.

On November 4, 2013, the The U.S. Treasury published a revised version of the Model 1 IGA. On April 17, 2014, Mexico replaced the IGA signed in 2012 to conform to the IRS’ standard terms provided in the newest Model 1A Agreement.

Annex II of the Agreement identifies the Mexican Government, the Central Bank of Mexico and certain Mexican pension funds as Exempt Beneficial Owners. The category of Deemed-Compliant entities under Annex II includes certain exempt organizations, certain trusts ("fideicomisos") including those acting solely as escrows and those with only real property assets, and certain collective investment vehicles. Lastly, Annex II declares personal retirement plans, insurance premiums for retirement and pension funds as Exempt Products.

Full article and Mexico IGA agreement with U.S. are available for download. For more information please contact a FATCA Leader or click here.

Last updated

Share this page

Email this Send to LinkedIn Send to Facebook Tweet this More sharing options

Stay connected