This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Bookmark Email Print page

TOP 200 strong performances on stable turnover provide vital contribution to New Zealand’s economy and future prosperity.

Top 200

The future strength of New Zealand business enterprise reflected the importance of stable turnover in the winning line up at tonight’s 2013 Deloitte /Management magazine TOP 200 Awards.

Fisher & Paykel Healthcare and its CEO Mike Daniell were named Company of the Year and Executive of the Year respectively; Dr David Kerr, who joined the Ryman Healthcare board in 1994 and has held the role of Chairman since 1999,was named Chairperson of the Year and Sir Murray Halberg ONZ was awarded the Visionary Leader title.

The announcements were made tonight at a black tie gala dinner at the SkyCity Convention Centre in Auckland – the 24th annual event for New Zealand’s most prestigious awards - to a capacity audience of over 800 people. Deloitte chief executive Thomas Pippos saluted all the winners and finalists as some of New Zealand’s best home-grown businesses and individuals, saying that together they represent the who’s who of the business community and make a vital contribution to New Zealand’s economy and future prosperity.

“With R&D at the core of their business, Fisher and Paykel Healthcare lead the group of world-class Kiwi enterprises that were recognised tonight. Their win as Company of the Year, and CEO Michael Daniell’s win as Executive of the Year, shows how an unwavering focus on innovation can drive business success despite the high New Zealand dollar and a challenging global economy,” says Mr Pippos.

Judges of the Top 200 awards for 2013 say the awards reinforced the continuing positive growth environment of New Zealand businesses against a backdrop of tough international competition.

“Compared to last year which showed the same companies had a year on year drop in after tax profit of nearly 27 percent, 2013 reversed this pattern with an increase of 14.2 percent.

“The top 30 companies in the finance sector also showed a similar turnaround this year from the previous year’s drop of 3.7 percent, to an increase of nearly 20 percent in after tax profits.”

Dr David Kerr, 2013 recipient of the Chairperson of the Year , is a Fellow and Past President of the New Zealand Medical Association and has been awarded a Fellowship with Distinction by the Royal New Zealand College of Practitioners. Under his watch Ryman Healthcare has continued to enjoy record profits and growth.

The Visionary Leader award was presented to Sir Murray Halberg ONZ. This year marks the 50th anniversary of the founding by Sir Murray of the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation and coincidentally his 80th birthday.

The foundation has worked tirelessly to make the gold medal winning Olympian’s vision to create opportunities for those with disabilities to experience the advantages that involvement in sport can deliver. Sir Murray was also behind the reinvention of what was once the New Zealand Sportsman of the Year Awards, now known as the Westpac Halberg Awards, which honour and celebrate sporting excellence. Guests at the awards evening, comprising CEOs, executives and directors of New Zealand’s largest and strongest enterprises, heard from guest speakers, Steven Carden, chief executive of Landcorp Farming and Peter Biggs, chief executive of ClemengerBBDO, Melbourne.

Carol Hirschfeld and John Campbell hosted the evening. Other major category winners were: Mark Julian of Landcorp Farming Limited (Young Executive of the Year); Air New Zealand (Most Improved Performance); EBOS Group (Best Growth Strategy) and Auckland International Airport (Excellence in Governance).


  • Deloitte/Management magazine Company of the Year: Fisher & Paykel Healthcare
  • Deloitte/Management magazine Executive of the Year: Mike Daniell, Fisher & Paykel Healthcare
  • NZIM/Eagle Technology Young Executive of the Year: Mark Julian
  • QBE Chairman of the Year: Dr David Kerr
  • Ilume Best Growth Strategy: EBOS Group
  • Marsh Most Improved Performance : Air New Zealand
  • Minter Ellison Rudd Watts Excellence in Governance: Auckland International Airport
  • Federation Visionary Leader Award: Sir Murray Halberg ONZ.

The December issue of NZ Management is out now and includes full coverage of the Top200 Awards and extensive analysis by expert business writers.


The Deloitte/Management magazine Top200 Awards were established in 1990 and are run annually to recognise and applaud outstanding individual and management team performances among New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations. The Top200 award winners emerge from NZ Management magazine’s annual listing of the 200 largest corporations based on revenue, and a separate listing of New Zealand’s Top 30 financial enterprises based on asset value.

The lists comprise public listed and unlisted companies, New Zealand subsidiaries of multinational companies, cooperatives, societies and state-owned enterprises (SOEs), plus private companies prepared to supply audited accounts.

From the Top 200 index, significant contenders are identified for a series of awards. A thorough and comprehensive judging process follows, with the contenders whittled down following further research and scrutiny until the judges decide the three finalists and eventually the winner in each category.

The judges are well recognised and respected figures in the business community and are selected for their expertise in particular award categories.

This year the judging panel, convened by Reg Birchfield of RJ Media, included: Neil Paviour-Smith, (managing director of Forsyth Barr), Suzanne Snively, ONZM (MoreMedia Enterprises) and Sandy Maier, (independent director).


For further information, please contact:

Kimberley Dixon


KiX Communications Ltd


Last Updated: 


Matt Huntington
Deloitte New Zealand
Job Title:
Communications Manager
04 470 3771
Stay connected:
Get connected
Share your comments


More on Deloitte
Learn about our site