This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalized service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Bookmark Email Print page

US enlists help from five EU nations on tax evasion

At the same time Treasury released the proposed rules, the United States announced in a joint statement its intent to enter into FATCA agreements with five European governments to help combat tax evasion.

France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom said they would jointly develop a framework to collect and send information about offshore accounts held by Americans from their FFIs to the IRS.

Once the framework is finalised, FFIs in those countries would not have to enter into separate agreements with the IRS, but would still be required to apply for FFI EINs to identify themselves as participating FFIs.

In return, the United States would collect and share information with those five countries about accounts held by their citizens in U.S. financial institutions. However, financial institutions in other countries must still enter into agreements with the IRS on their own.

A number of key financial places such as Luxembourg, Ireland, and Switzerland have not yet revealed their positions as to their potential participation in this bilateral framework.


  • Pascal Eber
    Partner - Operations Excellence & Infrastructure Operations
  • Pascal Rapallino
    Partner - Private Wealth Services Leader
  • Pascal Noël
    Partner - Tax - International Tax-GFSI
  • Basil Sommerfeld
    Partner - Operations & Human Capital Leader
  • Alain Verberken
    Directeur - Tax - International Tax-GFSI



Stay connected:
Get connected
Share your comments
More on Deloitte Luxembourg
Learn about our site

Recently published