This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Bookmark Email Print page

Taxation and Investment in India 2012


India is a federal republic, with 28 states and seven federally administered union territories; it operates a multi-party parliamentary democracy system. It is a common law country with a written constitution. Parliament has two houses: the Lok Sabha (lower house) and the Rajya Sabha (upper house). 

The President, the constitutional head of the country and of the armed forces, acts and discharges the constitutional duties on the advice of the Council of Ministers, which is headed by the Prime Minister. The Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers are responsible to parliament and subject to the control of the majority members of parliament. The states and union territories are governed by independently elected governments.

India is a three-tier economy, comprising a globally competitive services sector, a manufacturing sector and an agricultural sector. The services sector has proved to be the most dynamic in recent years, with trade, hotels, transport, telecommunications and information technology, financial, and business services registering particularly rapid growth.