This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalized service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Bookmark Email Print page

About Chile

Located in South America, Chile is one of the countries with the most stable and growing economies in the region. Apart from Santiago (the capital city), its most important cities are: Antofagasta, Concepción, Temuco, Valparaíso/Viña del Mar (the main city port of the country, located 120 km. west of Santiago) and Puerto Montt.

The official language is Spanish and there are also native people's languages still in use, including Mapudungún (or Mapuche), Quechua, and Rapa Nui. Also, most of the Chilean tourist service personnel speaks English, and some speak German and French.

According to the latest archeological research, the Chilean territory has been populated since 10,000 years B.C. In the 16th century, a portion of the country was part of the Inca Empire. That same century, in 1542, Chile was discovered and conquered by Spaniards. The country started fighting for its independence with its First Cabinet Meeting in 1810, and finally got it with the Declaration of Independence on February 12, 1818.
Related links:
Chilean Government 
Foreign Investment Committee 
Chilean Internal Revenue Service 
Central Bank
Sernatur (National Board of Tourism)  

Stay connected

Material on this website is © 2014 Deloitte Global Services Limited, or a member firm of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, or one of their affiliates. See Legal for copyright and other legal information.

Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, a UK private company limited by guarantee, and its network of member firms, each of which is a legally separate and independent entity. Please see for a detailed description of the legal structure of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited and its member firms.