This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Bookmark Email Print page

The formation of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu in Australia

Our domestic roots

The history of Deloitte Australia

The history of Deloitte Australia

Deloitte Australia has grown from a firm known as Yarwood Vane and Co. Established in 1891 it won leading work in Sydney and elsewhere and became a leading entrepreneurial firm.

Up until 1979, partners used to sign reports on Yarwood Vane letterhead, Deloitte letterhead or Haskins and Sells letterhead depending on the nationality of the work. Dulhunty Grant and Co, Irish Young and Outhwaite and other well known firms merged into Yarwood Vane and by 1980 the name of Deloitte Haskins and Sells was being used.

In 1989, Deloitte Haskins and Sells Australia became a member firm of Deloitte Ross Tohmatsu International and the Australian firm took the name Deloitte Ross Tohmatsu. It wasn't until March 1993 that the partnership adopted the name, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu. Although Touche Ross Australia decided not to become a member of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu International, many of its partners and staff chose to leave Touche Ross and join our firm.

In December 1993 Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu merged with Duesburys, then the largest second tier firm in Australia. This merger occurred in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane.

In July 1994, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu merged with BDO Nelson Parkhill in Western Australia, strengthening the Perth office of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu. In July 2005 Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu merged with PKF in Adelaide, Darwin, Alice Springs and Katherine. In July 1994 we merged with Haly and Co in Brisbane and Kidsons-DFK in Papua New Guinea.


Through the Duesburys line, our firm had its origins in 1870 through a connection with the firm of Kennedy Smail and Middlemiss. Kennedy Smail and Middlemiss was originally commenced by Mr Laurence Paterson in late 1870. Mr E W Smail eventually took over the practice in 1891 upon Mr Paterson's retirement. In 1931 the firm carried on as Herbert Kennedy and Smail.

In 1946 Mr A Middlemiss joined the firm and it became known as Kennedy Smail and Middlemiss. In July 1967 there was a merger with the firm of Alexander Boehme, a firm founded in 1925.

Another antecedent firm was the practice of LB Wallace. This firm originated in 1920 and expanded to L B Walace and Son in 1949. In 1970 this firm merged with McMullin Heale and Company to become Wallace McMullin and Partners.

In 1974 the practice of Leane and Crozier, with origins back to 1926, joined the firm of Wallace McMullin and Partners bringing with it two new partners and an audit and consultancy client, Murray Goulburn Cooperative Co Limited.

In 1975 Kennedy Smail, as it was then known, merged with Wallace McMullin and Partners and certain other firms including Law Saywell and Commins forming the national firm of Wallace McMullin and Smail.

1984 saw the joining of Wallace McMullin and Smail with Duesburys.

Duesburys was a Sydney based practice which was originated in 1914 by FW Duesbury. Duesburys then expanded their Melbourne office presence in 1989 when it joined forces with the Melbourne office of Bentley and company.

In 1993 Duesburys merged with Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu in Australia.


Follow us


Talk to us